Victoria induct newest member to Wall of Fame during 2023 Alumni night!

June 9, 2023, marked an important night for the Shamrocks as they inducted Rob Desormeaux into their Wall of Fame. He joins the existing 36 members of the Victoria Shamrocks Wall of Fame for their outstanding contributions to the team, on and off the floor. The Shamrocks also hosted their 2023 Alumni Night honoring members of the 1983 and 2003 Mann Cup Championship teams.

Desormeaux, also known as the X-Man was the first-round pick in 1986 for Victoria (formally Victoria Payless). His success was legendary, playing 234 games, scoring 60 goals and totaling 247 points in his 12 seasons with Victoria. Desormeaux was part of the 1997 Mann Cup Championship team as well as the captain of the 1999 Championship team. In addition to being a legendary Shamrock, Desormeaux played in the NLL for the Calgary Roughnecks and represented Canada at the World Field Lacrosse Championships in 1990 and 1994.

His contributions to Shamrock’s lacrosse were highlighted tonight as his former teammate Dave Bremner awarded Desormeaux his spot into the Wall of Fame.

After winning the Mann Cup seven times between 1957-2015, the Shamrocks invited various members of the 1983 and 2003 winning teams to share the night with the existing team. In 1983, the Victoria Shamrocks finished third in regular season and fought their way through the playoffs, eventually landing themselves the right to host the Mann Cup Championship. During a sell-out crowd on September 15th, 1986, Victoria was crowned the 1986 Champions. It was an historic night for the team as John Crowther led the team with 30 points in 6 games. He would end up winning the Mike Kelly Award as the MVP of the series. 2003 told a different story as Victoria placed second in regular season but still took home the championship in the final game against the Brampton Excelsiors.

The arena was filled with pride and honour as members of the two Championship teams took the floor before the ceremonial face-off, presented by the 1986 and 2003 captains, Larry Bell and Darren Reisig.

The current 2023 Shamrocks team did not disappoint as they notched another win against the Coquitlam Adanacs, winning 13-7.