WLA announces 2024 Draft Territorial Picks!

2024 Graduating Junior Draft to be held February 6, 2024

Burnaby, B.C., Jan. 16, 2024: The Western Lacrosse Association (WLA) has scheduled its 2024 Graduating Junior Draft for Tuesday February 6 at 7 p.m. The WLA will be hosting its draft of B.C.’s top 21-year-old players live from the Langley Events Centre, and the entire event will be available virtually to lacrosse fans throughout North America.

The draft will be webcast live at WLALacrosse.com and hosted by longtime lacrosse play-by- play broadcaster, Jake Elliott. A representative from each team will also appear by video link, along with WLA Commissioner, Paul Dal Monte.

Each team will submit two (2) territorial protections (see below), followed by five (5) draft rounds, in reverse order of the 2023 final regular season standings. Should a team elect not to exercise their two territorial protections, they will be awarded compensatory picks following the 1st and 2nd rounds respectively.

As a number of trades affect the first few rounds, the projected order of first round picks is:

1) Maple Ridge Burrards (from Coquitlam)

2) Burnaby Lakers

3) Victoria Shamrocks (from Burnaby)

4) Victoria Shamrocks

5) Nanaimo Timbermen

6) Nanaimo Timbermen (from New Westminster)

7) Burnaby Lakers (from Langley)

For the full, up-to-date draft order, visit WLALacrosse.com. Draft results will be presented live at WLALacrosse.com and on official WLA social media channels. Check your team’s social media or use the hashtag #WLADraft2024 to participate in the conversation.

“The WLA Junior Draft signals the unofficial start of the 2024 season, and we are very excited about this year’s crop of graduating juniors and what they will contribute to each of our member clubs”, said Dal Monte. 

The 2024 WLA schedule will be announced in mid-February with teams playing a full 18-game regular season followed by playoffs in the run up to the Mann Cup, hosted by the Ontario Major Series Lacrosse champion in September.

Team Protected Player #1 Protected Player #2

Burrards Declan Fitzpatrick – Langley Thunder Jr. A Will Carriere - Delta Islanders Jr. A

Adanacs Luca Antongiovanni – Coq. Jr. A Adanacs Jack Charboneau – Coq. Jr. A Adanacs

Lakers Sam La Roue – Burnaby Jr. A Lakers Thomas Vela – Burnaby Jr. A Lakers

Shamrocks Davis McCulley – Victoria Jr. Shamrocks Kyle Pepper – Victoria Jr. Shamrocks

Timbermen Levi Verch – Nanaimo Timbermen Jr. A Colby Bowman – Nanaimo Timbermen Jr. A

Salmonbellies Austin Ducommun – NW Jr. Salmonbellies Kai George – NW Jr. Salmonbellies

Thunder Stuart Phillips – Coq. Jr. A Adanacs Cam Ickert – Langley Thunder Jr. A